Friday, 05 Jun 2020

4 English teams on 2 European finals ended Spain’s domination in the last six years


Son from Totttenham, Salah From Liverpool, Hazard from Chelsea, and Aubameyang from ArsenalSon from Totttenham, Salah From Liverpool, Hazard from Chelsea, and Aubameyang from Arsenal -  Four English teams advanced to the final of European club competition. This achievement also ended Spain's domination in the last six years. From the Champions League, Liverpool and Tottenham Hotspurs made it to the final at Wanda Metropolitano on June 1st. Both managed to get rid of their opponents dramatically.

The Reds won 4-0 over Barcelona after losing 3-0 in the first leg. Meanwhile, Spurs got rid of Ajax Amsterdam with a 3-2 victory in the second leg thanks to a Lucas Moura goal in the last second of injury time and won thanks to its away goal with aggregate 3-3.

While from the Europa League, Arsenal stopped the resistance of Spanish representative Valencia by winning both legs in semifinal, 3-1 and 4-2, and Chelsea who faced Eintracht Frankfurt had to struggle to qualify for the final through a penalty shootout in the second leg. Arsenal and Chelsea will fight for the trophy of European League at Baku Stadium on May 29.

Certainty the four Premier League clubs advanced to the final made the dominance of Spanish clubs in Europe stopped. Because, since 2014, the Matador teams have always won in the Champions League, Europa League, European Super Cup, and the Club World Cup.

Exception only happened in the 2017 Europa League when Manchester United won the title. The last time the Spanish club failed to win the Champions League / Europa League final was in the 2012/2013 season. At that time Bayern Munich won the Champions League and Chelsea won the Europa League.

Versi Mobile